echoes

the force of a train
right to my chest
my body is thrown
pushing away the air, the rain, the light
i see my own flailing shadow trace the earth as i rise against gravity
nerves screaming that my muscles are torn
my lungs have been emptied
bones already shattered
the taste of blood
the scent of burnt flesh
no sound
no sound
in that empty room
weeping into one another’s arms
bawling and heaving out words, empty
into silence, into nothingness
in waves they hit me,
still, the echoes
of a day.
echoes,
silent.

Leave a Reply

