Killing Queens

I sit down after pouring some Maker’s and put on the new Lorn. I just bought it a few days ago and haven’t properly listened to it. It’s pretty dark and brooding, even for Lorn. But as I’m halfway through it and not getting into it quite as expected, I start the alternating slow and quick scrolling through the digital library to see if anything catches my eye.

There: The Life and Times appears in my browsing, and it hits me that yup, that’s it. But which album? No One Loves You Like I Do seems maybe a little too on the nose for tonight. I remember that there’s a new EP they put out a few months ago that was all cover songs, some of which I heard and wasn’t all bad but definitely not the right mood. So here I wonder what else they’re up to; well, it turns out they released a new album. Today. I’d not heard a thing about it.

It’s called simply The Life and Times. I thought at first it was called The Map To My Heart based on my hurried scan of the blog post here, along with the lovely cover art that helped implant that suggestion into my head. And though I’ve not finished listening to it as I type this, I’m not feeling it for the most part. Some good moments here though, I’ll give it that. Maybe it’ll grow on me. That first song, however, hit me right away, and deserves a paragraph all it’s own.

“Killing Queens” it’s named, and of course I assume it’s a bit of a call-back to their last album Lost Bees. But then the vocals come in, and I start noticing some lyrics…I’ll just quote them below.

if you run away from me i’ll love you from afar if you run away from me and now the only one i care about is you and now the only thing i drink about is you if you need to be alone i’ll be waiting if you need to be alone when you look up at the stars i’m shining down on you when you look up at the stars and now the only one i care about is you and now the only thing i drink about is you and now the only one i’d care enough to drink about is you if you take your life from me i’ll never let you go if you take your life from me when you look down from the stars take me with you when you look down from the stars and now the only one i care about is you and now the only thing i drink about is you and now the only one i’d care enough to drink about is you

So I’ve been doing plenty of wallowing, but this little slice of serendipity that fed so magically into my state of mind is out of the ordinary. The universe is obviously conspiring to tell me something. The universe doesn’t often conspire to tell you to be keep being sad and pathetic, I think. That’s not what I’ve seen much of in books and movies, quite the opposite. This last paragraph is of course typed with a wealth of sarcasm, just in case you can’t tell.

epilogue: I put on No One Loves You Like I Do afterwards anyway, because, well, fuck me.

Leave a Reply

